In any situation, progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of view.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Every individual is unique. He/she has his/her own thought process or different perspective to things around. It is an individual’s tendency to become dogmatic at times and consider one’s own opinions correct without evaluation. It is human nature to not accept the possibility of flaws in oneself. But for progress to be made in any field, it is necessary that a discussion takes place between parties having contrasting opinions. Nothing ever is considered accurate in life without evaluation.

Firstly, when people having contrasting opinions sit together for discussion on a particular matter, the matter is discussed exhaustively. For example, if a company plans to launch a new product in the market, there will be some in favor of the launch and some against it. If the views of only the supporters are heard, that will simple reinforce the company’s decision to launch the specific product. Similarly if the views of only those against it are heard, the company’s plan will be rescinded. Now if there is a healthy discussion about the pros and cons of launching the product, the company will come up with the best possible accurate decision by weighing the pros against the cons. Therefore, it will provide everyone involved a broader perspective on the case.

Furthermore, both sides on listening to each other will realize the flaws in their opinions. This will improve their ability to self-evaluate and correct themselves. They will become amicable and not denigrate others in life. Like in the example stated above, when the same persons get into a similar kind of situation again, they will definitely delve deeper into the matter and ultimately reach a better decision.

Finally, a discussion will help increase everyone’s knowledge about general topic. The gained knowledge will definitely help one at some point in life. Thus, progress in such cases is inevitable. On the contrary, it may also be possible that clashing opinions lead to arguments with no chance of reaching to a conclusion. The motive of the people involved in this case might change from finding a solution to rather demean others and prove oneself correct by hook or by crook. Such a scenario will definitely not provide an atmosphere conducive to progress rather entire matter will exacerbate. Like in the example, though the product actually will bring invaluable gains to both the company and the general public, but due to clashes, the company decides to drop the idea. This will definitely lead to loss.

Therefore, progress undoubtedly requires juxtaposing pros and cons in every field. Being partisan will not help positively.