In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the argument the author's states Prunty County's decision to lower speed limit was not an effective solution and instead, Prunty County should follow Butler County to get the same results as Butler County. He based his conclusion by addressing peoples unwillingness to follow the speed limit and comparing two County. However, his assumption is based on three unwarranted assumptions that need to be clarified to prove the persuasiveness of the argument.

First of all, his assessment about the failure of lowering speed limit needs more evidence. Maybe the accidents were or completely different reasons which have nothing to do with the speed limit. Maybe the drivers were not well trained, there were many cases of drunk driving or perhaps there was just too much traffic so the number of accidents was large proportionately. Maybe the design of the roads was flawed, there was not enough lane for vehicles of the different speed range. If any one or more of the above-mentioned cases were true, then the Prunty County has taken a completely digressive step then what was actually needed. Thus undermining the author's argument.

Secondly, the author thinks that changes made by the Butler County will still be relevant today in another city. What if the two Counties are not comparable? Maybe Butler County has less population, less traffic and their roads are straight whereas Prunt County roads are filled with turns and difficult to drive. May be Butler County roads are uninterrupted whereas Print County roads are filled with crisscrossed and filled with interruptions. With the above cases being true, changes made in Butler County roads may not come in handy when it comes to Prunt County roads. So, his idea to follow Butler County will not draw much attention.

Finally, The author places the speed limit of Butler County as a factor that was supposed to increase accidents. In reality, maybe it was the major reason that's why the number of accidents was reduced by 25% than the previous five years. May be limiting speed helped as a booster for other factors to reduce the number of accidents. Maybe strict limation on speed made people more cautious and discreet If this is true, then the author's argument would be falsified and less important to be taken into account.

With the way, it is represented currently, the author's argument is not well designed enough to be considered viable. More evidence may be from road transport authority, scientific surveys on road accidents could be added so that we could better evaluate the author's assessment.