The best ideas arise from a passionate interest in commonplace things.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement above and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how those considerations shape your position.

Passion goes a long way when it comes to pursuing an interest;sometimes the ideas come from something as simple and banal as an object laying around. It is agreeable that an idea can be a lightbulb moment triggered by commonplace items. Something as simple as an idea for a Girl Scout project or the decision to become an actor stem from simple things.

One such example has to do with the recipient of the national award for the Boy Scouts Eagle project. In 2021, the recipient for the award was a young girl who created social media accounts promoting mental health during the Coronavirus pandemic. When interviewed, the award winner explained that she got the idea when she noticed her excessive use of her phone during her high school years. Her idea is clearly the “best idea” in the nation, as she was given a national award for her project. The scout went on to explain that being at home during the pandemic forced her to look around at what was accessible to her at home. She was forced to brainstorm based on the common things that are in any household. Using what she saw, she was able to execute her idea. She knew that many people used their smartphones for social media as an entertainment form or to communicate. Although it is a very common and seemingly meaningless observation, it is actually accessible for everyone and guaranteed to make an impact. Therefore, it is safe to say that her award winning idea came from an interest that she shared with many people; smartphones.

Another idea in which an idea was made from a deep interest in a common object comes from the Indian bollywood actress Deepika Padukone. Deepika spoke in an interview about how she came to fame. She explains that although her family was old-fashioned in conforming to the idea that a woman should finish her education before getting into a job, she was always passionate about television. Deepika states that she was always passionate and persistent about playing small roles growing up. Watching television, she was tied to the idea of being behind the screen. As she matured into a young woman, her interest turned into a persistence of making acting her career. She speaks to the fact that her parents were not too thrilled about the idea of Deepika not earning a degree, but she showed that her ideas from childhood could be a successful reality in adulthood. This all came from a simple curiosity and interest in the idea of being on television. The television is a common item to have not just in a home, but in places such as a college campus, bar, coffee shop, etc. A simple idea of what it would be like to be the one behind the screen has led Deepika to a successful career that has left a lasting impact on bollywood.

Some may argue that successful and impactful ideas do not come from commonplace items. One could state that Elon Musk did not come up with the idea of Tesla from an item that was laying around his house such as car keys. Surely, Musk had an interest in the business of stocks and sales and decided that he wanted to produce a product of his own. But it can then be rebutted that Musk must have some passion and interest for cars to start of his company. Even if everyone does not own their own car, they are still everywhere and are seen on a daily basis. It is arguable that Musk has been passionate about cars and decided that he wanted to see a car of his own making. Therefore, his Tesla car is then a multimillion dollar idea that came from a common object.

Given the amount of evidence, it is fair to say that impactful ideas come from deep-rooted interests in everyday items.