The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation not competition Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree

In any field, leaders represent their society or group, which makes the position of great importance. Leaders should be competitive, but it is also inevident for them to work in coordination with their team members in order to achieve common goals. The prompt suggests that young people should be instilled with a sense of cooperation and not competition to become leaders. I partially disagree with the prompt for the following reasons.

To begin with, to become a leader, a person has to compete with other people for the same position. This makes competitiveness an important aspect of leadership. For instance, if we take the example of politics, two or more parties compete against each other to gain the votes of common people. It becomes essential for the parties to portray their good traits while also undermining the traits of opposition parties. Competitiveness is thus important to make people realise who is better among all the parties and take an informed decision.

Moreover, competitiveness helps us show our potential skills and team leader characteristics. For instance, in a corporate workplace, to become a manager a person has to show leadership skills, communication skills, and also empathise with his peers. Delineating these traits enhances the person's confidence and personality. If the person is capable enough to become a manager, then he will surely succeed with all these traits.

However, it is not just the competitiveness that is important, a person should have a sense of cooperation with their team members. For example, in sports, a person who becomes the captain of a team has to work with every player of his team, know their strengths and weakness, and should be able to use their strengths to their full potential. Thus, cooperation with every member of the team is important for the team leader to gain the trust of its members, and achieve the common goal of making the team victorious.

These examples emphasise the importance of competitiveness as well as cooperation among leaders. No leader is successful in leading their team with just competition or just cooperation. There has to be a right mixture of both traits.