The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of marketing at Dura Soc, Inc.

“ A recent study of our customers suggests that our company is wasting the money it spends on its patented Endure manufacturing process, which ensures that our socks are strong enough to last for two years. We have always advertised our use of the Endure process, but the new study shows that despite our socks’ durability, our average customer actually purchases new Dura-Socks every three months. Furthermore, our customers surveyed in our largest market, northeastern United States cities, say that they most value Dura-Socks’ stylish appearance and availability in many colors. These findings suggest that we can increase our profits by discontinuing use of the Endure manufacturing process.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The memo that appeared from the vice president of marketing at Dura Soc, Inc. suggested, the company should discontinue the use of Endure manufacturing process to increase the profits. The suggestion was based upon the surveys conducted in their largest market of customers and on a recent study that was carried out. If given following evidences, the argument would be strengthened and would make it easier to take the final decision.

Firstly, there is no evidence about when the "new" study was conducted and if the study is still relevant to present day. There are no details given by the author about the total customers considered for the study or about how the frequency of customers purchasing the Dura-Socks is distributed throughout the years. It might be possible that most customers purchase Dura-Socks every one to two months and few purchase every eleven to twelve months.Thus, average is not a plausible method to base suggestions on. Further, if the sample size of the customers considered is very small, then the results obtained would not be dependable. If valid statistics are given, then the study conducted would be plausible.

Secondly, the customers surveyed in the largest market should be quantified. The largest market is subjective and so, the size of the market should be provided. The survey should provide the evidence of other markets, the number of customers surveyed, their age groups and the details when the survey was conducted. If the survey was conducted among younger set of customers, then they would most probably value the stylish appearance and availabilty in many colors. But, if it was conducted in an older set of customers, durabilty would appealing to them. Similary, the recency of the survey plays a factor in the choice of socks. The choices of socks may change with time. If the author provides this data, then the argument would be strengthened.

And finally, evidence should be provided on the number of styles and the number of colors that the socks are available in. "Many" and "most" do not quantify the variety available at Dura-Socks. If, for example, there are 10 different styles and 10 different colors in each style, then Dura-Socks may be considered as having a wide variety. The author should, thus, provide with numbers that would strengthen the argument.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, would be strenthened if provided with the detailed evidences as mentioned. If he is able to provide with the evidences then the Endure manufacturing process could be discontinued to increase the company's profit.