The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry or any other field is by instilling in them a sense on cooperation, not competition.
The world has turned really competitive in the past few years. No matter which position or industry
you want to be part of, one has to face a lot of difficulties even when they are deserving of that post.
Hece, although competition is required, coorporation is rendered to be of more prominence. The
prompt states that instilling the sense of coorporation in the younger generation rather than
competition is more important. I mostly agree with the statement for the two reasons.
Firstly, when one has to inculcate discipline or any disposition in a person, it has to come at a young
age. This has been scientifically proven. Suppose you encourage a child to be competitive from a
young age, yes, he will be competitive but he would not understand anything but that either.
Although competetiveness is natural, when emphasized can leads to many problems. Not only does
it instill a sense of distrust in an individual, a competitive person can also become conceited. This will
hinder him in interacting with people or being social as a child as well as with adults. The above
example gives a summary on how a competitive person without any cooperation grows up in the
society.
Secondly, an individual who is competitive fails to understand the importance of teamwork. One
alone cannot run a company or lead a life. You could be good in one field but you will require an
other person from an other field to achieve your goal as all the fields are interconnected. No one can
be versatile or perfect unless you are a robot. If the top companies such as NASA or ISRO would have
been a one man show, they would have not been able to achieve so much. This summarizes that
being competitive cannot help one achieve everything they have dreamed of in life.
However, competition is required if one wants to be successful than everybody else. Unfortunately,
life is a race. If one wants something, they should be able to get it before anyone else and maintain
what's their's as well. It is true that an individal can chage the world, but an individual can only bring
up an idea. The reason India got it's independence was not only because Mahatma Gandhi fought as
an individual. It is because many people joined him and fought with him for their independence.
Hence, even thought competition is necessary in an individual, coorporation is more important to
establish a change in the world.