The best way for a society to prepare its young people

for leadership in government, industry, or other fields 1s

by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not

competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to

which you agree or disagree with the claim. In

developing and supporting your position, be sure to

address the most compelling reasons and/or examples

that could be used to challenge your position.

Leaders are a very important component in our modern human society - whether it be government leaders or corporate leaders. These are the people that are essentally tasked with leading the human race forward. As a result, it is imperative that we as a society make sure that we prepare the leaders of tomorrow in such a way that they will do better than their historical counterparts. For this to happen, i think instilling a sense of cooperation is more important than making them competitive towards each other.

Don't get me wrong, competition is an essential part in development of humans as well. Competitiveness after all is one of the fundamental traits that makes human want to improve themself day by day. A very good example of having no competition in human society is shown in the Hollywood movie, Wall-E. In it, it is shown that a human society with zero competition and hence zero desire for accomplishments will ultimately turn into overly obese people, who aren't even able to walk and do other basic tasks becuase they don't feel the need to as machines take care of everything and hence having healthy competitiveness is important.

Healthy competition, that's the important part. Instilling only a sense of competition in young people (which is not healthy) is a very good recipe for end of mankind. Having very competitive leaders at the helm can prove to be disastrous for a nation and even the world. Unfortunately, we don't have to go too far to witness this. President and Leader of North Korea for example, is probably the most competitve leader (or at least tries to be) in the world and yet by having a look at the state of his country (most of the population under poverty, hostile environment throughout the country etc.), one can't help but wonder if blatant competitiveness really accomplishes anything. Even the President of United States, potrays himself as very competitive and non-cooperative in terms of sanctions and deals with other nations, and i think most of the americans know the opinion that people living outside of the US have of him.

Hence, i believe cooperation is certainly more important when it comes to leadership roles as countries like Japan and South Korea have shown. Both of these counties have prospered because of their cooperation whether it comes to trade deals with India or other BRICS nations or sanctions. Even China, to some extent is trying to cooperate with other countries and willing to make changes in order to accomplish their goal of rebuilding the infamous Silk Route. Not only government leaders, cooperation can be seen in Technology leaders as well. The top 4 technology companies in the world - Alphabet(Google), Amazon, Apple and Microsoft are planning to share data between them as to provide better resources for all of their users. Samsung provides Apple, it's biggest competitor in the mobile market, with displays that they use to make Iphones. There are so many other examples like these that show us that cooperation between different leaders lead to betterment of the whole society.

All in all, teaching our youth cooperation encourages diversity in opinions and gives them the ability to acknowledge and understand each other's perspective which instilling competitiveness won't, and hence this ability will certainly be very useful when these youth become the leaders of human kind in the future.