The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree

This statement about imposing the limits on the amount of trash being accepted from each household may limit the amount of waste for the municipal community but it hardly justifies if it could limit the trash as a whole. This solution may lead the uneducated customers to find other unethical ways to dispose the garbage.

To exemplify this consider how the indian society reacted on the restriction of the gas cylinders per year per family by the indian government. They tried to circumvent the restriction and did not hesitate to follow a grey route by buying the cylinders in black at marked up prices or by legally showing the 2 families living under a single roof.

To add to an adage: Do for me and I will forget, make me do and I will understand , let me do and I will learn and today's man says 'you impose on me and I will rebel'.

Therefore, this restriction may reduce the amount of garbage say by 1% but if we want to solve the environment problems which has invaded the area on a large scale we need to follow a multifold and more pragmatic approach which starts from educating and making the customers aware about the environment problems.

Educating and enlightening people about the correct waste disposal is necessary because most of them are not aware of it and dump everything at one place altogether deteriorating the quality of the environment.

Secondly, the use of plastics can be restricted with the re-usable items like cloth woven bags or jute bags. Plastic is the biggest enemy of the environment and its use should be limited to as low as possible. One plastic bag takes around 1 million years to be decomposed. Consider the amount of plastic which is used and thrown everyday!

Thirdly regular inspections by the authorities to check for improper use of resources at neighbouring areas which may arouse a fear of being caught while doing the unjudicious use of the resources.

Furthermore we can teach them how one can donate old books or reusable items to a charity instead of throwing them away. How one can utilize the peels of some vegetables and fruits which are edible too rather than throwing them. Some peels can also be used for cleansing action plus other beauty benefits like peel of an orange radiates the skin. Waste water can be used for irrigating plants and extra food can be distributed to needy.

At last , we cannot control the waste just by restricting the limit of the waste collected from the homes but by a more widely held multidirectional approach. We need to educate the humans that how the waste is affecting the environment and thereby deteriorating the quality of our life only.