The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The statement posit imposing strict limits on the amount of trash from individual household accepted by the government as the best way to solve environmental problems precipitated by the waste is simply overrated and haphazardly thought. The statement assumes that if the city limits the amount of waste accepted, household waste productions will definitely be less, therefore the environmental problems caused by it will subsequently decline. Household waste production is something inevitable but, we could always prevent the raising of environmental problems. There are some better options available to do it, such as making use company CSR for recycling facilities and forcing companies to produce any daily necessities product with environmentally friendly packaging by passing the necessary law.

The amount of corporeal social responsibility funds is not negligible. If the government could make company use this money to build recycling facilities, the number of facilities could be built would be enough to create a sustainable recycling process. With this sustainable recycling process, we could manage the recyclable part of the waste which is the one apt to accumulation (because they’re made from non-biodegradable material) and catalyzing long-term environmental problems. In addition, the recycling facilities open more jobs, and will eventually yield money from selling recycled goods. It’s like hitting two even three birds with one stone.

Today’s technology enables eco-friendly packaging for goods. Edible spoons, forks, and plates; bio-degradable layer to replace plastic wraps; even a sturdy mechanical appliance could also be created with eco-friendly material. There is only one reason for companies to use pernicious plastics and Styrofoam instead: the cost and availability; they are cheaper and easier to get. Thus, government should pass a law that enables efficient mass production of these eco-friendly substitutes. Also, one more law should be passed to force companies to use them.

One may argue that limiting trash accepted from household will gradually increase people’s awareness of their household-generated waste effects on environment and eventually they’ll try to reduce the amount of waste they produce daily. That may sound rational, but unfortunately it is ridiculous at the same time. It is true eventually people will realize how their waste contributes on environmental problems. But, the process will take a long time and during that period, the amount of unprocessed waste would be enormous and obviously engendering many more detrimental effects such as spreading of diseases, accumulation of nocuous substance, etc.

To conclude, limiting trash accepted from household is an option but definitely not the best way to solve environmental problems. There are better options available as mentioned above: empowering recycling facilities, substituting plastics and styrofoams with eco-friendly substitutes, and of course passing the necessary law. Nevertheless, I wouldn’t dare to say those options are the best that is a parochial way of thinking we definitely should avoid when offering solution.