The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.

Indeed, one of the major sources of environment problem is consumer generated waste. Most of the time we mixed up all organic, inorganic, recycle and non-recycle waste in single dustbin, which creates a lot of environment problem because it is difficult to segregate that waste. Therefore it ultimately pollutes the environment. To solve this problem, given statement suggest if we apply a rule of accepting limited amount of trash from each household, it can prevent the problem caused by this waste. It seems reasonable but not practical.

To put a limit on the amount of trash not only creates problem for each household, it will also create disagreement among the people. To produce fixed amount of trash is very difficult for each house. And after this rule government will accept only fixed amount of waste, in that condition people will not know what they will do with rest of the waste. And finally, they will try to dispose of the rest of the waste illegally. This act will definitely create more harm to the environment rather than solving it.

Additionally, it is very difficult to put limit on each house. For example, a house having 4 members generates less waste than a house having 6 and 8 members. If the government try to put the same limit on both the house will be unfair and will be opposed by the people. Similarly, to put a limit as per the family size will be a burdensome task for the government. So, to design this complete system is very difficult and also not pragmatic.

However, limiting the waste amount will force people to think that they should reduce their waste and help to save the environment. But on the other hand, we can not also ignore the above mentioned problem. Rather than imposing this act, the government should educate the people about this. They should additionally focus on other methods like recycling organic waste into fertilizers and ban on the plastics, which can help to save environment in a more effective way.

All of the above points defines that this policy is not only difficult to apply but also do more harm to the environment. Therefore, the government should look at the different policy to save the environment.