The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The term ‘best’ as used in the recommendation means the most effective way of teaching. For a strategy of passing knowledge and instilling right behavior and morals in an individual(s) to be considered effective, it has to adopt a wholistic approach which seems to be missing in this recommendation. Praising positive behaviors is an effective strategy for teaching as it encourages learning and also fosters the continued practice of such positive behavior or attitude. In addition, praising a positive behavior will instill in the other learners the willingness to practice such behavior. For instance, an approbation of the neatness and punctuality of a student in the presence of the entire school would not only instill a sense of pride and satisfaction in the student but promote the practice of neatness and punctuality among other students.

Furthermore, teaching is incomplete if it does not adopt an all-round approach. Negative actions are important contributors to effective learning depending on how such actions are handled. From the aforementioned example, taking strict measures against late coming or dirty appearance will also instill in students a sense of neatness and punctuality among students. On the other hand, if such negative action is ignored, such students would not be able to learn important values of life such as personal hygiene and punctuality. The recognition of this fact underscores the need for prize giving and award ceremonies in the society to reward good actions such as diligence, hard work, creativity, integrity, humanitarianism etc. and also promote the practice of such behavior. The realization of the role of negative actions in teaching also underscores the practice of judgement and punishment for negative and illegal actions such as theft, bullying, juvenile delinquency to deter others from engaging in such behavior. However, ignoring such negative actions will lead to a continued practice of such action which would be detrimental to the individual practicing such behavior and the community in the long run, defeating the whole essence of teaching and learning process.

In conclusion, praising positive action and taking appropriate measures against negative ones rather than ignoring is the right recipe for effective teaching.