The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a reasons in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree. ...

Beyond just an issue that parents or teachers may consider to best help their children and students, the idea of positive and negative reinforcement, or lack thereof, is an idea that has beed deeply studied in both psychology and neurology. The idea of reinforcement even has it's own niche field called Reinforcement Learning. If there is any one fact that such an immense amount of research has uncovered, it is that the issue of positive, neutral, and negative rewards corresponding to patterns of behavior is not a simple one. While it may be easy to think of many instances where positive reinforcement leads to better learning, the argument does not capture the nuances of this issue, let alone the idea of ignoring bad behavior working or not working.

The complexities of this issue can be demonstrated by an abstract scenario. Consider we have a student who contantly performs poorly in some domain, whether is be school or elsewhere. We can break the setting down into two cases, one for which the afforemention positive only reinforcement method works, and another case in which it falls short. On the side of the fence arguing in favor of the method, one may argue that the student would attempt to perform better if they recieve some positive reward, such as praise. If we make several assumptions, such as humans being beings that purely maximize for positive reward, this argument may hold. However, the fact that we must make such assumptions is itself an issue.

Examining an instance of embedded assumptions can help to better delineate the complexities of this issue. The previous argument rests on the assumption that the student finds value in the reward they are receiving. Assuming praise is a reward universally viewed as positive would, in it of itself, require a study and subsequent argument. While the initial idea seemed simple, it is that exact simplicity that leads to intricate details going unearthed. One could not even attempt to claim that these are the only two cases that classify the subject, as this argument only grazes one dimension of the complexity of the subject.

While it is impossible to deny that there are cases in which the proposed idea of praising positive actions and ignoring negative actions could assist in teaching, affirming it is the "best" way casts away the numerous, subtle complications that lie at the core of such an idea. The thought of even asserting there is a "best" way of approaching teaching entirely invalidates the possibility that unique situations require unique solutions. While one could not justifibly claim that positive-only reinforcement is the best way to teach, it is a method that surely has its use cases.