The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

When a child touches a hot object, he/she gets scalded. This experience remains in their minds throughout their lives and they stay wary of such objects. This negative incident teaches them a lesson that is indelible. In the same way individuals performing negative actions also need to be reprimanded, to ensure that they mend their ways. I disagree with the statement that the best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Studies have shown that if a person is praised for the good work they do, it motivates them to perform even better. But this doesnot mean that he/ she should be pardoned for every wrong action they do. Absolving them of their wrong deeds would make the complacent. If a teacher gives an assignment to her student, she expects them to have it completed properly. Instead of following the teacher's orders, the students may decide to not do their homework, since they know that their teacher would ignore their misdemeanour. At jobs, a project team leader may want to motivate his team members by praising their good work and ignore their torpid attitude, thus making callous towards their job.

When parents prefer to talk about their children's good work and overlook the inappropriate behaviour they exhibit, they refuse their children the opportunity to learn and grow. Children learn from their mistakes. Young children need to be taught about courteous conduct. Parents should explain to their children as to why they should or should not do a particular deed.

Anything is excess is always detrimental. Excessive praise will spoil the child or make an individual complacent. While nitpicking of every little error will lead to resentment and feeling of ill-will in an individual. So while teaching academics or proper conduct, an individual should be praise for the good things they do, while they should also be educated about the repercussions of their wrong actions.