The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or

disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position

you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific

circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be

advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

There are various ways of teaching people things. Here, prompt recommends that the best way to educate someone is to disregard their negative actions and to encourage more postive actions. I strongly disagree with the statement and argue that to ignore negative actions is not the best way to educate someone.

To begin, ignorance of negative actions will lead to more neagtive actions. If the negative actions of people who are being taught are ignored then they will not learn. For instance, if a child is never told that picking nose in public is not hygenic and that action of the child is ignored then, he/she will keep on picking his/her nose in public. It is resposibility of the educator to check the negative actions and provide necessary recommendation required. In the above example, the child can be persuaded to not pick nose in public and she/he will eventually stop doing so. So, to let the negative actions go uncheked is not the way teach someone.

Secondly, history tells us that punishment, criticism, censurement etc have been required to restrain the negative actions of people. If the negative actions are always ignored then it will not be fair to the people who are doing good. The above mentioned tools like punishment, scolding, fines, etc are much needed in the society and they are essential tools in learning process. But that does not mean that the punishment should be harsh or anything like that. However, negative actions should not go unchecked as it may have some dangerous consequences.

Thirdly, for children only to praise postive actions in the fear that punishment or scolding may damage the psychology of the child may have some different consequences. The children may not even discern between neagtive and positive action if negative action is to go unchecked. Moreover, he/she may even come to the conclusion that negative actions of ours do not have any consequences. As a result of which children when they grow up may not think about their consequences of their neagtive actions. Therefore, there should be a mechanism to restrain the neagtive actions in the learing process.

However, one might argue that positive reinforcement of the good behavior can persuade people to do good things and other people can learn from the example of postive behavior. But, it might not hold true for all people. And history has showed us that people are more aware of their actions if for similar actions others are punished.

In conclusion, I think that the best way to teach is to both praise postive actions while negative actions should be checked with punishment, criticism, scolding,etc.