The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

While the idea of praising positive actions can prove to be beneficial in the long run, lessons are never learned only by doing so. Be it to a student, a corporate worker or a doctor, teaching is a complex idea that involves a conglomeration of highlighting one’s positive and negative traits. This tenet arose primarily due to the complacency of humans upon elaborating their successes. Hiding negative traits would neither prevent people from making the same mistake twice nor would it change the truth about the real depth of their success.

An example from history would be Thomas Edison. He is the reason lightbulbs exist in today’s time. However, this is not a man who educated himself through success but rather through failure. Before finalizing his design of the tungsten filament bulb, he had undergone hundreds of defective procedures and results that questioned the ability of his experiment. It was only by learning from his mistakes and underlining what he did wrong rather than what he did right, that he eventually taught himself the reality of the science behind the bulb.

To address a more current situation, let us consider school students. These children are in their developing stages and would grow up to be significant and influential members of society. As a result, making them a solid foundation through their education is crucial. This cannot be achieved by only praising their positive traits. While doing so may ameliorate their morale and confidence to tackle the world, it would blind them from the truth. When children fails exams, they should dwell upon their mistakes and make sure it does not happen again. Such a feat is only possible if the child’s mentors or parents point out the negative aspects behind the failure.

Next, let us consider the more mature and educated fractions of society. Firstly, we could consider the example of engineers. Their work not only attracts customers but also trust. When a person crosses a bridge or applies the brakes on a car, he or she has faith that doing so would not lead to a breach in safety. An engineer therefore has an important responsibility of making sure that all products designed are close to perfect. This is only done through thorough testing and evaluation which predominantly highlights any flaws or aberrations. While any positive results can encourage the engineer to work better, so can the flaws. These mistakes teach the engineer to be humble and careful. Therefore, engineers learn through mistakes as much as successes.

Next we can consider doctors, who have an important job of saving lives or at least making them better. Before treating patients, doctors spend years practicing and studying the human body properly and identifying any mistakes or dangerous actions along the way. Any mistakes they make during surgeries are instantly noted and tried not to be repeated in the future. Just stressing upon the wonders of medicine rather than its limitations would cause the doctors to be a lot more overconfident and statistically speaking, overconfident people tend to make more mistakes. Hence, doctors too teach themselves through mistakes as much as successes.

In the end, teaching is an art that just life as a whole, is a roller-coaster full of ups and downs. The downs play an equally important role as the ups and should not be overlooked. Mistakes make a person more prudent and careful and teaches the value of humility and success. Consequently, I agree that highlighting the positive actions are important but disagree that ignoring the negative ones are in any sense justified.