The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.
Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and
explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific
circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how
these examples shape your position.
Praising positive actions does create a lasting impression of ours on the person who receives it;
but given the fact that if a person has to be taught something that cannot be forgotten easily it is mandatory
to also criticize for the bad actions.
A teacher is only as good as the progress of the worst student is concerned. If a teacher
praises a student for a good act such as submitting the homework on time; this appraisal
is sure to give that student an impetus to work harder on his academics tham a lagard student.
But if the teacher does not critique the good student and ignores his bad habits of
ignoring other subjects; the student is then proceeding to a doom. We also cannot
criticize any person blatantly and condemn him strongly. Because that would create a false
impression of ours on his mind and that person would never even slightly be inclined towards
us for learning something. The way in which we criticize should be refurbished. Although
the best way for a pupil to get an unimpeded interest in the topic is by praising his positive
actions; the fallacies of his or her learning should also be told such that the person
understands that this dose of criticism is helpful in his improvement.
If for example a basketball coach teaches a pplayer to shoot properly by first praising his
stance during yoga, this is definitely the way to go; at the same time the coach should also
subtly indicate him or her of their negative ones such as an improper wrist position or the
futile footwork done. Not all criticism is painful and hurts and depresses a person. By not
ignoring the negative qualities, the pupil will get hurt for some time but he will have the
realization that he improved at the sport as well. This is what a true teacher intends to do.
He not only praise the good performances of his students but also criticizes the bad ones
and also makes them realise that this criticism will help them improve in their further
career.
If we proceed teaching to anyone by first prasing them, it creates an eager interest in
the minds of the students. And then if a things has to be actually taught well, criticism
has to be an integral part of the teaching process. No scientist ever reached that
position without people's hateful criticism about some eccentric theories.
Definitely, the best way to teach is to praise positive actions but also then to point
out the wrong ones.