“The best way to teach is to praise positive

actions and ignore negative ones.”

Write a response in which you discuss the

extent to which you agree or disagree with the

recommendation and explain your reasoning

for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, describe specific

circumstances in which adopting the

recommendation would or would not be

advantageous and explain how these examples

shape your position.

Praising positive action is the best type of teaching. In many environments, children learn best when teachers encourage them into doing a good deed or when something that they did well is noticed. When working in groups or individually, it is much easier to give the positive action attention instead of constantly pointing out the negative action. It makes teaching more engaging and enjoyable for the teacher and student. Ignoring negative action is a good strategy as well, as long as the negative action isn't too distracting. Sometimes negative action can get out of hand and be too disruptive to the instruction.

One instance where these strategies work tremendously is in the classroom. Teachers and substitutes use positive reinforcement and ignore negative action in the classroom, and is a great strategy in getting children on task easier. By not giving any attention to the distracting students that are tapping their pencils or that shout out the wrong answers on purpose, teachers are acknowledging that they do not condone this behavior and would rather give their attention towards students who are raising their hands. The idea is that the students with the negative behavior will eventually follow along because what they are doing isn't amusing anyone, and that by following along, they will gain praise from the teacher. Of course, really negative behavior that is disruptive to the class cannot be ignored. Running in the classroom or making fun of others can cause chaos and is not right. this needs to be controlled and disciplined by the teacher.

Another instance where praising positive action and ignoring negative action is beneficial is during coaching sports. Whether in one on one training or coaching a team, pointing out positive action lets an athlete know what they are doing well. It gives them confidence that they are learning to play their sport well. They are able to understand what they are doing well at. They are able to take this home and tell their parents that they were lauded for their good work. As for negative action in coaching sports, not following along and kicking around grass in the field can be agonizing for a coach to control, but it is not too disruptive of behavior that needs to be controlled. Instead, praising the positive action of others, making it fun for everyone to be a part of, makes the drill amusing for everyone and may even the draw the attention of the child kicking grass to come back and take part in the drill.

These scenarios are just some examples of how praising positive action works well in teaching. They also go along with showing how ignoring negative action may also be beneficial. By tying both into one's practices, teaching can be much more entertaining, constructive, and easier to do.