“Both the development of technological tools and the uses to which humanity has put them have created modern civilisations in which loneliness in ever increasing”

A life without Google is beyond comprehension to us today. Man began inventing technological hacks to simply the task at hand. Unfortunately, the race to simplify life seems to have no end. Humanity is so consumed by the variety of products there is to sell and our greed to buy. We forget that life has more to offer than our smartphones and thus we are faced with the ever-increasing feeling of loneliness.

The list of technological advancements in the 20th century is incomplete without social media. Twitter, Instagram and snapchat is the new age of communication. People often indulge on these platforms by sharing facets of their life and engaging with others through their posts. More often than we like to believe we lose our sense of self trying to portray what others perceive of us on social media. As a consequence of the same we only live to impress the followers and isolating ourselves from reality to a lonely space.

With TBs of books, resources and visual media at our disposal, the standards of education and the urge to excel has risen. This implies a very cut throat competition in every field of life. Technology has definitely helped us strive for the best, but has also culminated pressure to be the best, loss of team spirit and sharing. The ultimatum being a lonely life.

The only way out of this vicious cycle is to excise control. We must be conscious of how we utilise technological resources as users or customers and be mindful of the value a product adds to one’s life as inventors. Technology has helped connect the globe in seconds but overuse can tear us apart into a billion lonely minds.