Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The men/women working at the top of their fields have the power to change the world. The argument claims that these people, no matter which field they work in should step down after five years and a new person must be choosen to head the organisation consequently. It suggests that one should adopt this principle because the surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership. I mosty disagee with the claim for the following two reasons.

First of all, a person gets choosen by the members of the enterprise to head them all. This means that he/she is selected after overcoming various odds in their way of assuming leadership of the organisation. If they do achieve it, this means that they are capable of heading such an organisation and also have the trust of those who had a hand in his/her appointment. They should conspicously step down from that position after ten or fifteen years but five years is a very short time for a leader to demonstrate the effect of his/her changes in the working of the organisation. Any big policy they do introduce would take atleast some years to show its effect on an organisation as big as a country. For example, in India the decision to allow foreign investment and open up the economy globally for various investment opportunities was only regarded a brilliant move ten years down the line. The leader should get an ample amount of time to prove his/her worth assuming the confidence of the people in him does not drop drastically.

The President of the USA can only serve two terms, that is eight years, following which he/she has to step down. This is effective rather than stepping down in five years as eight years is considerable for any policy change to show its effects . However, as elections are held every four years, the citizens do get a chance on rejecting him as their President. As long as those in power have the support of the majority, they should be able to lead the enterprise. We witness this in the field of business where Elon Musk has been the CEO of Tesla for over twelve years now. Even Jack Ma, the founder of Alibaba has been the CEO for more than ten years. The ones in power should remain in power as long as the enterprise being run by them is successful in majority of the aspects of the business or their field and have the trust of the ones in the enterprise.

In conclusion, be it any field- business, politics, education, government, those in power should remain in power as long as there is growth and innovation present in the enterprise. However, they should be kept in check so that they cannot misuse these powers causing harm to the enterprise and its people.