Claim: In any field -business, politics, education government – those in power should step down after 5 years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

The statement contends that in every field, the people in authority should abdicate their power after 5 years as new leadership can surely bring success for any organization. I partially agree with the argument, the author has provided due to following reasonings.

First, the change in leadership after 5 years term can bring new fresh ideas and perspective pertaining to that generation as world is constantly changing. For example, in India, the oldest political party, Congress, brought a new face and leader for the elections so that they can bring new angle into their expression and relate to the problems that are faced by majority of the decade. This strategy proved to be beneficiary for them.

In this fast paced world, change is the only constant. Therefore, it is crucial to keep up with the pace of the technology. The change in leadership can help to innovate and grow as the world needs. It can provide new direction for the enterprise. Therefore, anyone who can adapt to the fast paced change and adapt accordingly can surely bring prosperity as a leader.

A leader should be able to encourage the people working with him to give their best and deliver the best possible work. A leader should be able to guide him/his subordinates and be an exemplar for them. Hence, it is essential to measure how much effectiveness, change and potential, a leader can bring out of a person.

The other reason is the with power humans tend to become arrogant and greedy. For this reason, I think the change in leadership periodically is a necessity. For example, if one person is in power of a authorized position for a very long time, he/she might take that responsibility for granted and think of themselves as inevitable. Hence, for reality check, and stay grounded one must step down from the position of responsibility for a while. However, if a person is working hard for the success of the organization without getting attached to the power, he/she should continue the position as deserving candidate. This also encourages other people to take responsibility and be leader at their own level. Sundar Pichai, the CEO of Google is a perfect example for this. He earned this position with his hard work and now, he is role model for many people in the world.

The change in leadership can surely bring prosperity and success to an organization in any field as it opens the new path to innovation and perspectives. However, the efforts of the existing leader should not be discouraged. The deserving leader is indistinguishable and will surely lead the way.