Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Have you ever considered asking a great football player to resign just because he has completed his 5 years playing in the team? So is with the politics, education, business and government. One cannot be asked to abdicate from the power only on the basis of their tenure. Doing so will restrain great people from giving their best. However, there are many other ways to ensure that no one grows too fond of their powers and starts misusing them.

To begin with, we cannot restrain someone from getting into their position back if everyone wishes otherwise. That is why the existing systems of election are there, they are meticulously designed to make sure that only the best gets to serve the public and that too for a limited period only. After that tenure, each will have to gain the trust of populace again to reinstate to their positions, after winning the elections. If they win, no one can prevent them from going back to their positions. This ensures that the top performers get all the chance they deserve. Take for an example, in United States every president has to re-run the elections after 4 years to get elected again.

Additionally, these systems ensure that people who are disinterested in their duties and ignore their responsibilities get to see the exit on time. There are several positions where such election procedure is not available, due to which people suffer from bad administration. Implementation of election process at these positions should be encouraged to make sure the consistent availability of good administration. For example, the government employees that work at definitive positions in India don't have to worry regarding job security and thus grow corrupt. Only if there was some way that these people employed at administrative levels could be assessed for their performance and honesty, the menace of corruption could be controlled.

On the other hand, if we ask every administrator to abdicate from their position and give way to others on completion of their tenure, there would be no guarantee of justified devotion from the next person in line. Some policies demand more than 5 years to come into effect completely, such policies will always be under threat of getting ruled out by frequently changing rulers. Not to mention schemes, funds and other plans that are designed to function for a long time and promise benefit for everyone, can meet the same fate as their implementer.

Conclusively, the idea that business, politics, government and education should strive to make sure people at powerful positions do not stay there long enough to get adulterated by sense of power. But they should also ensure that the ruling positions should not get ephemeral to the extent that their existence becomes indifferent to everyone.