Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

This topic raises the controversial issue of whether people in power should retire after five years of serving the administration. Indisputably, only a select group of people leading any organization may incur possible dictatorship. Nevertheless, in order to make greater changes in the society, such interpretation of the focused administration as dictatorship may not be reasonable. Thus, I generally disagree with opinions that ban one’s term more than five years and would argue that barriers to one’s leadership merely due to the length of the term are the very barriers to the success of the organization.

First of all, a committee should be given appropriate amount of time to execute a concrete administration for the success of the enterprise. I would like to point out that it is important to understand the history of an organization’s development in order to navigate the organization on the path to success. To illustrate, one can consider Steve Jobs as a living example. As one of the most successful leaders in IT, Steve Jobs has been leading the company to success by his stubborn decision making and execution of his own ideas for the past decade. Looking into his administration policies, one will quickly realize how autonomous leadership has proven efficiency and a focused way to success. Consequently, it is obvious that the success for an enterprise lies in the capability of the administration rather than in such rules to hand down the leadership to new teams frequently.

Furthermore, continuous swapping of leadership roles will not be a reasonable way to make progress for the company. Specifically, now the largest electricity supplier in the United States, NextEra, has had the same executive board members for the past 15 years of its history. Both common sense and personal experience have told us that blocking the right of capable administrations to lead an enterprise will also block the future of its own. Hence, all the evidence above demonstrates that the optimal status of an organization can be achieved through continuous efforts by a consistent team of capable leaders, and attempts for revitalization may only risk the path towards success.

Admittedly, putting all the rights in only few people’s hands for a long time may put the company at risk under dictatorship. This may be true when unreasonable ruling occurs due to the incapability of the committee. However, this does not constitute a sufficient support to claim that merely truncating one’s leadership to five years will ensure the success of an enterprise. Because the length of the administrative term does not decide the destiny for an organization, the administration should have freedom in their executive term.

In conclusion, although there may be a downside in terms of risking dictatorship, it should not limit the full potentials of an administration for the outlook for an enterprise. As long as the plans and ideas within the administration have the vision into the future, the success of an organization requires patience and focused administration by the leaders. In fact, the development of the current human society would have been deterred by decades if we constantly limited the great leaders’ great ideas within a scope of five years.