Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

The surest path to success for any enterprise depends on various factors other than revitalization through new leadership. In my opinion revitalization can’t be generalized as it can have different effect in different field of concern. In case of politics it can have both effect positive as well as negative. If the current ruling party is known to indulge in corruption it can help in solving this problem if the new party that has replaced is not indulging in these activities which is a chance effect. For example. In Bihar lalu yadav ruled for continuous 15 years by manipulating the vote bank and during his session the development of Bihar was impeded. Recently when Nitish got elected the development of Bihar reached to better level. Changing the ruling party can have negative effect in the context that all the policies that are currently implemented by the present parties will come to a hold and it’s the next ruling party decision to figure out what to do with them. Five years can’t be sufficient to implement some program. Due to this change implement of a single policy throughout the period of time can’t be as achievable as it may seem.

It also depends on the power that they have, in other words the position they are currently holding in this field. For example, in education system, a teacher who has a control over ways in which they can educate a student if the teacher is performing well. There’s no point in replacing them as with the new teacher there is equal chance of performing worse/better than the previous one. Whereas in case principle which has control over the management of whole school functioning revitalization can have more positive effect than negative. Since having that kind of power for extended of period can help in increment of their comfort zone in manipulating things. In some of the government regulated schooling facility principals have been found favouring people who they knew beforehand and providing them with better facility and manipulating their children’s grade. If the new principal is introduced these problems can be maintained at lower level for some period of time as it will take time for the new member to form its social connection and getting comfortable at new position. Also, there’s equal chance that he will not indulge in these activities.

Revitalization can have different effects based on field and position that the person/organization holds.