Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Even the best food loses its taste when it goes stale. To expect a human mind to generate a ceaseless pool of ideas seems ridiculous at best. So revitalization of manpower is the surest way to increase productivity and guarantee a steady supply of new ideas in any field, be it business, politics, education or even running the government. Moreover power corrupts even the most altruistic of saints. We humans struggle against the magnetic pull of power everyday. To bestow upon one person a lot of power for a long period of time is like supplying cocaine to a drug addict. It just doesn't bode well in the long run. Also people in power sometimes let grudges or feelings of bias for their employees influence their treatment of them. Feelings of nepotism and corruption also tend to take roots in such a scenario. Sometimes an infinitesimal error in judgment leads to an unworthy person being promoted to a position of power and while such an error cannot always be remedied, a periodic recycle of leadership can dilute the negative consequence of such an error. People given a certain period of time or deadlines tend to set more realistic goals and execute them than people who have been given an indefinite period of time. This suggests that leaderships that come with an expiration date will be more productive than those that aren't because wouldn't you rather be legend who is remembered by all and looked up to by his successor than the guy whose mess has to be cleaned by his successor or even the guy who simply didn't do anything worth a mention? But to be fair, the periodic change in leadership comes with its fair share of cons. People tend to trust those that they know the longest as a general rule. And leaders who have been in that position for a longer period have had enough time to build a strong foundation with their employees, based on trust, understanding and familiarity. Also they command a certain level of loyalty that a newbie might not. Implementation of certain policies or ideas also take a longer time and while a successor can implement the ideas of its predecessor, this is rarely the case. But perusing both sides of the argument, I do think the pros of revitalization through new leadership outweigh the cons.