Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The claim emphasizes the importance of term limit on those in power in the field of business, politics, education, government, and any other field, because this allows for revitalization through new leadership which is vital in achieving success for any enterprise. I think this claim makes a valid point.

We have learned from numerous modern or historical examples that staying in power for too long will inhibit revolutionary ideas and foster nepatism and corruption. It is inherent in human nature to long for greater control and power until checked by another force. Such desire, if unchecked, can grow so strong that it takes away the lear’s full attention and effort, as well as the enterprise’s whole wealth, to focus on staying power and obtaining more, instead of working towards the common good of all members. We have witnessed national leaders in countries across the world, who started with strong volition and devotion to the nation, quickly surrender to the gratification of being a leader without effective term limit. Those with nominal term limit extend their control one way or another, advocating that having a long term rule saves election expense and allows for steady development. However, almost all such promises were broken by the leaders themselves, who evolved from national heros to despots, turning an initially vibrant government into clans of corrupt politicians.

While the best humans are susceptible to the corruptive effect of longterm power, it is difficult to select the best humans and put them in power in the first place. Leaders in different fields are selected in different ways; some are nominated within smaller elite groups, some are elected by the public, but they are all exposed to misuse, malfunction, and adulteration. Setting up a term limit provides a bumper to a bad choice, hence disabusing the belief that imperfect humans can select a perfect leader, creating a system that works with unreliable human nature.

However, a term limit of five years may not be broadly applied as the claim states. Some positions involving consistent decision making on long term projects, such as scientific research, can be rendered ineffective by such short term limit. As long as these positions are often under surveillance of other entities, such as the government, bond holders, or an institution higher in the hierachy, they should be entitled to stay in power as long as it benefits the development of the enterprise. The exact length of term limit should vary for different positions, which differ greatly in the nature of decision making process.