Claim The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint Reason Only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting views of others does one really discover the value of that idea Write a respo

By definition, an argument is a reason, or a set of reasons, used to support or oppose an idea, however, it does not mean that an argument has to persuade someone. I feel strongly that an argument cannot be evaluated based on its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint. Quite the opposite, I believe that what makes an argument the best is its (1) falsifiability, (2) ability to give another perspective for an opposing argument, and (3) its aptitude to remain cogent enough not to be refuted by aberrations.

First of all, falsifiability means that an argument should be formulated in such a way that counterargument could be given. In other words, to test an argument’s explicitness and lucidity it is necessary to find an opposing viewpoint which, being true, can show why this argument is wrong. If an argument cannot be falsified, it is vulnerable to be driven by prejudices and delusions. For example, such test of an argument's quality - originally proposed by Karl Popper - is widely used in science to demonstrate that scholars build their research on scientific theories rather than on their own firm beliefs. Hence, the test of an argument’s quality should be based on the criterion of an argument’s falsifiability rather than the number of people who firmly believe that it holds true.

Second, if the only motivation of an argument is to persuade someone with an opposing viewpoint, it tends to be monistic rather than pluralistic. To put it in other way, a monistic argument assumes that there is only one perspective to answer on any question, while a pluralistic one embraces many different viewpoints which can easily coexist without demeaning other ideas. To illustrate it in the simplest way, a monistic argument assumes that an opposing viewpoint is just “wrong”, so it has to be refuted, while a pluralistic one posits that the contrary opinion is “different” and is necessary to fully answer any question. For instance, nowadays the establishment of a level-playing field for minorities is a burning issue since usually their perspective on public policy is not taken into consideration. Hence, statements made by politicians about the need to introduce a policy should be evaluated based on to what extent they account for opposing viewpoints of minorities, rather than on the ability to convince them.

Even though the arguments above assume that to test the quality of a statement its Even though the arguments above assume that to test the quality of statement its persuasiveness should not be taken into consideration, sometimes the ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint could a boon rather than a bane. An opposite view can either be speculative in the sense that it uses as evidence some aberrations and outliers, or even worse be deliberately deceptive, like malicious hoaxes or spear phishing. This is the case of misinformation that nowadays surrounds such topics of high social value as vaccination campaigns. Hence, the ability of arguments about the necessity of vaccination to convince the exposed to misinformation is indeed a good test of their quality. These arguments should have the aptitude to remain cogent enough not to be refuted by aberrations and other speculations.

To conclude, I believe that the ability of an argument to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint is not the best test of its quality. Such characteristics of an argument as falsifiability, the ability to be pluralistic and take into consideration different points of view, and resistance to speculative facts and outliers are the criteria that should be used to evaluate an argument’s quality.