Claim: The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

The author claims that the best way to test an argument is that you convince opponents. However, others have the opposite view. As far as I am concerned, the last point carries more weight. It would be better to consider this issue with different opponents.

First, some people never accept your idea, and it is not related what you provide as reasons. In fact, your idea can put their profits on the line. I think that a small example can give some light on this topic. In the election debates, a candidate can not accept his rival’s comments, because he knows that this work can decrease his votes, and he would lose the competition. So, sometimes opponents' interest is the main important obstacle that they think your idea.

Second, some people can not accept a different idea that it is not according to their beliefs. Indeed, you never can convince a person, who has a strong religious background, when your opinion is different from what he thinks. Imagine you want to convince a Muslim that a homosexual is not culprit by medical scientist reasons, while he never can accept your idea because it is unlike their faith. Muslims believe that all things in their holy book—quran—are right forever, and this book god has forbidden homosexuals.

In contrary, with you dispute with other people, they can gain the deeper understanding of your idea. Therefore, convincing others lead to you sure your opinion is right. I think that there is not a better example of a teacher of theoretical physics. In the scientific environment, the logic is the main factor can confirm or violate an idea. This teacher can confirm his theory if he could provide logical reasons and convince other head teachers in this field of study.

All above evidence support this undeniable that convincing opponent can not always be the best way for testing an idea. Nevertheless, in some environment like the university, it can be true that you able test your argument by convincing others.