Claim: The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

From the point of the human evolution to the point till date humans have been extensively involved in myriad of arguments,conflicts.However, it is not because that they are always contentious, but it is the issues which actually call for these arguments.Yet when it comes for the validation of an argument the best way to bolster your argument is to persuade those who are not the proponents of your viewpoint.

There have been many such instances in the past where people actually won an argument by convincing others and after that they realised the potential of their work and ideas. Just look for example, Michael faraday, a great prominent scientist of eighteenth century had a diatribe with his seniors who strongly decried on the notion that electric current cannot affect the compass needle by throwing out some imaginary lines of field.

Nevertheless, faraday had a different notion and thought of electric current throwing out some imaginary lines of force. Indeed he verified it experimentally, and persuaded all,thus realising later the value of idea that changed the course of human history thereafter.

The conflicts between various arguments and ideas is much more apparent in today's world of politics, where everyone comes up with their own idea and argument and tries to persuade others. The ruling government let's say comes up with a scheme which is opposed by the non ruling parties,

and in process of trying to persuade their opponents they realise the effectiveness of their plan. "Does it have any pitfall?" or "Does it require any further deliberate considerations or not?". All such questions can be resolved if you make an effort to convince others.

Although, it seems that making people concede about your idea is the best option to test your argument, but this is not always the case.Just consider a scenario where you are the head of your department and you indeed convice everyone about your proposal, yet your plan fails miserably.It may happen that none of your team members(including you) noticed a pitfall that lead to its downfall.

Even nowadays still if people need to test or validate their arguments and want to see the value of their idea they resort to persuade others and in the process enlightening themselves and the others about the true exquisiteness of their idea.