Claim: The emergence of online "blogosphere" and social media has significantly weakened the quality of political discourse in the US

Reason: When anyone can publish political opinions easily, the standards for covering news and political topics will inevitably decline.

There is no doubt that due to technological advances it has become very easy to connect many people and express our opinion openly. When such technologies were unavailable, people mainly used to rely on newspapers. Only reports used to cover news and express their opinion publicly. And whatever opinion common people have were discussed only among the friends and family etc. But social media has given a platform for everyone to say whatever they like without any bounds and this has definitely degraded the quality of political discourse. Many times rather than focusing on crucial factors people tend to discuss trivial things which are more entertaining. Mostly it is seen that rather than discussing on the national policies and the changes than new leaders can bring upon, people are inclined to know about personal lives of politicians, what type of clothes they wear, their personal affairs etc. No wonder when tool like social media has come into hands of people with lesser knowledge in politics standards of news and political topics has gone down.