Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Major cities represents a country and has to be maintained well as so many visitors from outside country visit these cities and get first impression about country. This can be the reason that governments must ensure that major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive. But claim is based on a reason that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated in the major cities, which is not much appealing to provide funding to major cities. The cultural traditions are generally generated in rural areas of the country, not in big cities.

First, Major cities generally present the fusion of cultural traditions from different areas of the country. People migrate to big cities from rural areas to find work or to live better life. People from different areas interact with each other and try to follow each other's traditions. Mostly they follow whatever they like about a tradition, which eradicates originality of customs. For example, Diwali is a famous festival of India and it is celebrated in whole country but in different ways. Mostly in cities, it is one day festival, but some of the rural areas or small cities will be celebrating for five days, there will be ceremonies for all five days.

Another reason is that people in big cities are busy, they don't have time follow all the cultural traditions in a traditional way. There can be some festivals or traditions that are limited to a particular area, not well known in whole country and government doesn't declare national holiday for those. Then people who are living in big cities want to celebrate those festivals, they can do whenever they get time, probably on weekend, or they do celebrate but for custom sake only, not in proper way. Thus they fail to preserve the traditions.

Finally, major cities of a country are mostly influenced by cultures of other countries. Particularly developing countries big cities are influenced by developed countries culture, then it becomes mixed culture and can't give a true impression of actual cultural traditions. For example, Delhi is major city in India, most of the people especially youngsters try to follow western culture. It reflects in their style of living, dressing, or eating. Somebody who is not from India might get feeling that thats Indian culture is like this.

Thus, in conclusion, claim presented that government should ensure major cities receive enough funding to thrive because there nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated is not agreeable. Above discussion and examples explain very will that tradition doesn't generate there, they carried over from other parts of country.