Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

________________________________________

Major cities usually serve as the main centres for commerce, trade ,tourism and may be the largest generators of revenue for the government(s) of most nations. Important national occasions such as independence days are also usually marked best in major cities. However I disagree with the notion that Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive, on the basis that it is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Given the luxury and infrasctructure of most major cities compared to suburban or rural settings, many tourists and immigrants to various nations prefer to be in major cities. This enhances an intermingling of culture, beliefs, and traditions overtime. Cross cultural marriages may ensue, creating a generation of people with no or limited cultural biases.

Rural or suburban societies on the other hand usually hold fast to their ancient beliefs, norms and traditions. Such societies also usually have a fewer number of very elite or highly educated groups, compared to major cities. These help prevent the adulteration of their traditions by foreign culture, science and norms. Sometimes these societies serve as better centers for tourism for lovers of history and archeology.

Governments spending a chunk of the nations revenue on major cities to the neglect of suburban or rural societies might result in an influx of a great number of young people from these more deprived regions into the major cities. Why is this bad? It can lead to ‘ghost towns’ in which only the very old people of a particular society are left. An example is a suburban town called Mampong in West Africa, which used to be a great site for agriculture and tourism. Due to neglect and lack of infrastructure, most of the young people have left to the major cities in search of a better life, leaving the very old folks behind who are mostly too weak to farm the lands. As the older generation dies out, there would be fewer people to preserve the traditions and culture of this town.

In conclusion, I would say that contrary to the above notion,in my opinion, the preservation and generation of a nation’s cultural traditions lies to a greater extent in the nation’s government(s) ensuring that the suburban and rural towns get the financial support they need to thrive.