Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The author has presented the claim that that the major cities should receive the financial support they need in order to thrive. This is apparently due to the reason that the nation’s cultural traditions are preserved and generated in those cities. I do not agree with the reason mentioned by the author as I believe that the major cities are not the places where the cultural traditions are preserved and generated. Of course, they do try to maintain the culture up to some extent but it is not always successful in big cities.

More than cities, we can see that the smaller towns and more importantly the villages and rural areas display the true cultures of the nation. This is true in most of the states of the nation. For example: in India, we can see the most of the culture of different states are relatively pristine in the smaller villages rather than the major cities. Urbanization also has a role to play in this. As urbanization comes into picture, there is a mix of different cultures in the same city and hence the original culture of the city could be influenced to some extent.

We can say that the villages and smaller towns of nation are more in need of financial support when compared to the major cities in maintaining their culture. This is there are not enough outside sources of revenue which can support such small villages. In order to promote them to keep the purity of the culture, these small areas should be provided with adequate financial support. For example, in India, in the state of Kerala, there is a place called Kalamandalam which is said to be one of the oldest institutions of the traditional arts of Kerala. However, it is not located in a big city. Rather, it is located in a relatively remote place in the state and in order to maintain the place in its full-fledged beauty as well as to keep the institution running they need financial support from the government as there is no other source of revenue to help them maintain the place in its full glory.

There are also cities in India like Delhi which is home to many historical monuments in India, like the Taj Mahal (which is one of the symbols which represent the country and also a world heritage monument) as well as other historically important monuments like Qutab Minar, India Gate etc. However, this is just an exception and the city does get financial support from the government as major governmental offices are situated in the city as well since capital city. However, we need to notice that this luxury is not available to the tiny towns and villages which are rich in heritage and culture. They are remote locations where the culture and traditions are still maintained as they were hundreds of years ago. However, since these locations are relatively unheard of, they do lack funds to preserve and maintain their culture. The government needs to step in and provide adequate help to such places.

Culture and tradition are some of the most important characteristics which make a nation unique. In order to preserve and maintain them, the government needs to identify the places where they are sustained in their original state and also ensure that the financial support is provided adequately to all such places which may or may not be heard of.