Claim Group assignments that students must work together to complete should replace a substantial amount of traditional lecture based instruction in college and university courses Reason It is vital for students to gain experience collaborating with peers

GRE Issue Essay 1

Working in groups is an integral part of a university student’s life. So, the question arises, whether to replace a substantial amount of traditional lecture-based instruction in college and university courses with group assignment, with the reasoning that it is vital for students to gain experience collaborating with peers to study a topic and to achieve common goal. I moderately agree and believe that the it would be beneficial to students if some amount of lectures were replaced with group assignment for two reasons.

Firstly, working in a group setting exposes a people to new ideas and new ways to look at the same material, which helps in developing a different outlook and understanding the course content in a new light. For example, Russian scientist and American scientist work together at the ISS (International Space Station) to discover new insights about the universe that we live in and a lot of research has come from this collaboration that might not have been possible if people had been working alone by themselves. Collaborating with peers while studying helps students understand various viewpoints and strengthens their understanding by helping them discover new things in the same material, which a student might have missed if he/she was studying alone.

Also, working in a group teaches students collaborative skills which helps everyone quite a lot in their professional career. For instance, research has shown that world leaders are often people who worked in groups and in collaborative settings their whole life. Learning how to work with a group of people who all might have different outlook towards the same material helps expose students to new ideologies and how people from different background think, it widens a student’s mindset and helps him learn how to work with a diverse set of individuals on a common task.

With that being said, traditional lectures helps students learn material in a much more time saving and efficient way since professors are well experienced in teaching the material. One way in which having professors teach something is more effective than group study is that the professor can instantly help clear doubts of the students and help students learn beyond what is available in the textbooks.

In conclusion, the issue is quite complex and there are no easy answers. Clearly there are benefits of having group study for assignments (giving students different outlook and helping them learn how to work in a collaborative setting) but at the same time traditional lecture based instructions help students learn faster and outside material as well. There is a place for both in a university course and both should be tried out.