Claim: Imagination is a more valuable asset than experience.

Reason: People who lack experience are free to imagine what is possible without the constraints of established habits and attitudes.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

I disagree with the claim as, although imagination can sometimes convince our brain to believe and assimilate certain things which may sometimes be impossible for us to experience firsthand, it leaves a lower impact on our brain in the long term. When we experience something, it leaves a bigger impact on our life and can even be life-changing. However, the impact of imagination is short-lived and less pronounced in our lives. It is true that due to established habits and constraints, the quality and quantity of experiences can be hampered, but in order for an experience to be impactful it doesn't necessarily have to be extreme. Going out of our comfort zone and experiencing things that are even remotely close to our wild imagination can sometimes be more impactful than just imagining things.

Imagination can be a precursor to an experience but imagination alone cannot have a big enough impact on our lives. Imagination gives us motivation and unique ideas to indulge in various experiences and activities. For example- people can imagine going on a world tour, which is quite unachievable for most, however, it gives us a general idea that we want to travel and get to see different things and indulge in different cultures. So the closest thing we can do to give life to our imagination is to go to some tourist spot that is near our location. Sure, it may not be as grand as going on a world tour but it will scratch the ick enough to be memorable and something to cherish.

Another example can be given from an academic point of view, like, a student may imagine being the topper of the class, however, to turn that imagination into an experience, the student will have to work hard and and persevere. This further proves the point imagination acts more so as a precursor to experience rather than a substitute let alone a more valuable one. The imagination of being a topper pushed the student to step out of his comfort zone and achieve what he/she desired.

Hence, the claim that imagination is a more valuable asset than experience is not true. Imagination alone does not bring anything fruitful until some efforts are put into it to experience it. The experience of certain things also comes with interesting stories and moments which leave an impact on our lives.