CLAIM: The importance of multidisciplinary education is overrated in todays times.REASON: Education should be focused on preparation for a specific career path and thus students should be encouraged to only pursue a single area of study.

Education holds the pivotal foundation towards the revolutionization of our world. Its basic objective manifests to provide social, intellectual and moral instructions to our progeny so that they could become self-sufficient to make decisions leading to the better of their lives and ultimately, for the enshrinement of our world. The above claim states the concept of education by going against the multidisciplinary education system. It solely based its conclusion on the basis of ruminating education qualifying with only a path to be better in a field of interest opted by a student. However, it belies education warranted only getting proficient in a field of interest which can be refuted by considering a different perspective of education.

Multidisciplinary education provides knowledge about different fields which are related to each other directly or indirectly. A student should be provided the basic education of all the subjects so that he could be well known about different aspects of life and its working. Whatever be the interest of a student, he should be well educated about the operation of the different curriculum because he is going to require this knowledge to make sagacious decisions in the future. For example, a person who aspires to become a fashion designer should be well known about the history of fashion, about different geographical areas in the world which is well known for particular designs or textures of work. He should have a good sense of communication skills which is going to help him in making effective networking which is going to be a boost for his career.

Education teaches students with moral principles and basic axioms that he requires to be a good human being. Education does not come only by the formal education, it can be anything. It altogether aims to mold the mind of a student to think and analyze a situation in a judicious manner. In doing so each and every subject carries its own importance. For example, mathematics is proved to be a subject which helps the student to grow his mind by thinking and solving problems critically. Science holds the objective of believing in logical reasoning and history and political science tells the paramount role of all those prominent leaders who worked for the enrichment of their country. This brings the leadership qualities among student and helps them to bring in future radical changes.

Also, many students are not going to know their field of interest in the initial years of schooling only. there is some precocious student who has a proclivity towards a particular field. however, the majority of students could know this only after getting the required knowledge about each field. Also, it will bring a sense of respect among students towards those fields also in which they are not interested so that they could work together in the future by using their divergent talents and could work with consensus for a particular objective. For example, to strengthen a powerful workforce of an automobile company, there should be an engineer who is going to attain technical efficiency, a graphic designer who is going to provide designs and blueprints of a model, a manager who is going to manage the departments working together, a marketing department which will aim to sell those models and ultimately, all these departments work cordially with each other to bring out a salubrious result for the company. They all are related to each other obliquely and therefore, they all should have some basic knowledge about other multifaceted departments.

Therefore, multidisciplinary education carries a monumental role in molding the basic nature of students. Deficiency of knowledge is a problem but extra knowledge could never result in a problem. It is always going to be the boon for our progeny. Higher education should aim for the desired fields of a student but basic education should continue with the aim of providing the knowledge of all group of subjects.