Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree wit

Recently, there is a raising controversial issue of whether the law can solve most of the problems of the modern society or not. Indisputably, the law can enforce such regulations and establish a well working system and the society can benefit from it. Nevertheless, we can observe many societies struggling with enormous difficulties within a well-structured law system. Thus, I would agree the idea that the law cannot solve the problems of the modern society because it has no ability to alter peoples mind.

First of all, the perception of the society for problems can change over the time. I would like to point out that although the society could see some situations as a problem in past times, now these can be regarded as normal. To illustrate, let us look at the example of homosexual marriage. Obviously, we all know that the law prohibits such acts in many countries around the world. Consequently, it creates public unrest even violent demonstrations. However, these kind of prohibition laws were considered must in 50 years ago. Nowadays, the society believe that homosexual marriage should be allowed and it is an essential right which must be protected. As we see in this instance, it is pretty obvious that the legal system cannot alter people`s thoughts. Consequently, it does not solve this particular problem.

Admittedly, one can think that the legal system can solve the problems of the modern society by applying severe punishments and rules. Clearly, we can come up with many examples of countries which admire this way and indeed be successful. However, in some specific circumstances people have no choice but breaking rules and laws. We can say that one of the most desperate case for a human being is having no hope. Thus it is quite expected that society can give birth to problems despite the laws. That is to say that, although the dominant authority can put laws on society, people can still tend to be criminal as their minds are what were before the law.

In addition, I can say that the legal system can solve the problems in some specific situations. For instance, after the industrial revolution society had many difficulties in competition among individuals and firms. As the time passes, the governments regulate the most of the markets and build a concrete legal system for competition rules. Now, we have functioning law in resolving the disputes among firms and individuals in terms of competition. However, above argument does not constitute a sufficent support against my position. This is because, the benefits for certain areas cannot necessarily works for others. Hence, we have still problems that are not solve by law because people mind does not change.

In conclusion, I acknowledge that the legal system can solve the problems of the modern society regarding some particular areas. Nonetheless, I think that it cannot solve the majority part of the problems because it cannot alter people`s mind. In fact, this issue should be taken seriously and regarding the problems of the society, a more eclectic approach should be created instead of pure laws.