Claim: No act is done purely for the benefit of others.

Reason: All actions — even those that seem to be done for other people — are based on self-interest.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

In a lifetime, we come across many people who help us in many ways - sometimes we get help from whom we know and some other times, from whom we don't know. One could get perplexed trying to figure out if it was an altruistic help or there was a self-interest behind it. The claim presented above is that no help is done selflessly and there is a self-interest behind every such act. However, I disagree with the claim and the reason presented for the following reasons.

Firstly, I don't see any self-interest in the help that I get from my parents, acquaints and my childhood friends. In fact, this would be applicable to everyone around me. Since our childhood, our parents just do things for us - right from changing diapers, feeding food to helping us get ready for the school and being beside in every walk of life as long as they are alive. Similarly, children equally repay or I would rather say, even more by helping their parents in every possible way they can wihtout expecting anything even in their wildest dreams, in return. This is because of the affection we have towards each other. Similarly, even our acquaints and childhood friends help us without any "Terms and Condition Apply" tag to it. It is just so natural to feel that when our beloved ones are in a quagmire, we ourselves are also in it together. And one need not be a genius to figure out that we can be happy only if our beloved are out of this distraught. The help is so selfless and authentic that we even don't give it a thought to decipher if there is any selfish motive behind the act.

Secondly, as homo sapians, we have empathy ingrained in our psychology. It is very natural to feel sorry and volunterly come forward to help the needy not that we find some kind of benefit in doing so but out of the sheer sympathy that one would experience when they encounter such situations. To prove my point, I don't have to go anywhere but to my neighbouring state, that is, West Bengal. West Bengal was home to one of the world's most altrustic person, Mother Theresa. She was so moved by the poverty prevailing during her cotemporary period in West Bengal that she came in from a different country and dedicate her life to a place that is not obligated by the law to protect her or take care of her. She is the epitome of selfless help and the world recognised her sacrifices by honouring her with a Nobel Prize, the highest honour that a civilian can get. And to point out, she was not expecting even a single penny let alone a Nobel Prize for her acts. This proves that that helping acts that one does are in fact altrustic in nature.

However, in the realms of our discussion, we cannot overlook certain scenarios where acts of help are propeled by self-interests, especially in a professional world. For instance, some people oblige themselves to help others cheerfully in that the opposite person is then obligated to help them when in need even though it is not stated explicitly. Another example is that, in the case of politics and especially with foreign policies, some countries can take advantage of other countries tribulations and arrange for a quid-qo-pro deal to fulfill their selfish motives.

Hence, it is not uncommon to encounter acts of selfless help from our parents, acquaints, childhood friends and as a matter of fact, even from strangers as is the case with Mother Theresa. I would also like to qualify my opinion in some of the cases like in professional world or politics.