ISSUE 156: Claim: No act is done purely for the benefit of others.

Reason: All actions - even those that seem to be done for other people - are based on self interest.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

In our lives, we sometimes experience some chances of benevolence, which may be helpful for others. Some people willingly take the chance to offer others some extent of benefit, while others refuse to do so, or even stigmatize such activity claiming that no act is done purely for the benefit of others. Nevertheless, I disagree with the given claim because I believe that there is some examples of action which is done purely for other people. I disagree with the reason as well, for the same reason.

Admittedly, there are many cases which seems to be done for convenience of others but not actually. Donation done by celebrities or companies would be a compelling example. Donation itself is a very benevolent action, yet it cannot be denied that it is advantageous for their fiscal status. Those donations with a large sum of money are encouraged by government, through allowing them to save their taxes. Construction of good images would be another charm, which may allow dismaying the donation as expenditure for marketing or promotion. Regarding that those subjects are cognizant with their potential advantageous, consequential to their actions, this prominent example definitely demonstrates that some beneficial actions are not solely based on the interest of others.

However, there are some examples of donation which are not aimed for those rewards, yet the number could be not very significant. For example, it is not impossible to read news articles about a celebrity who used to patronize a non-profit benevolent organization over a decade, without telling it to anyone. A story of an old man, who already suffers from poverty, collecting abandoned glass bottles and sheets of paper for living, saving his money for years, and eventually donating it all to other penurious families, is a more significant example, regarding that he does not need any of promotion to the public. These examples of more quotidian donations, which are done very privately and secretly, reveals that some actions ground on sincere empathy for others.

Finally, the given reason asserting that all actions are based on self-interest, will be definitely rebutted by a lofty action: sacrifice. For instance, a Korean college student who was studying abroad in Japan, had saved a man who was accidently fallen on a railroad. This student was soon killed by a train, and he was surely attentive that this action will end up with his sacrifice since the train was approaching so quickly in the vicinity. However, he decided to jump off from the platform without hesitance even for a second. Life is one of the strongest and, most important, and the most innate eager of a person; his sublime action would be an irreproachable proof of an action, which is perfectly unencumbered by self-interest.

In summary, though many so-called benevolent actions would be partially based on the expectation of self-reward, lofty examples including unknown donation or sacrificing one’s life proves that not all actions are so. Thus, people should be optimistic and strive to be altruistic to each other, realizing the virtue in our very society.