Claim: In order to help small business thrive, government should play a minimal role in private business matters.

There are many factors that decide whether a small business can thrive or not. Those include the economic trends, the products quality, the competitiveness of the industry, the leadership of the owner, or the support of the government. One claims that government should pay a minimal role in private business matters to helps them thrive. Though in some special and extreme cases, minimal role of government might release some stress for the business, in most cases it does not help them to thrive.

One example of the importance of government intervention is in restaurant business. If the intervention or requirement in food quality and sanity reduce in one particular area, many restaurants will be starting to ignore those requirements and food sanity when it comes their benefits. Hence, it will come a day that people become skeptical of their local restaurant food and prefer eating at home or eat out at other areas. This will make the restaurant industry in that area will lose a significant number of customers. On contrary, if the government have specific and strict requirements about food safety and sanity, people won’t have to worry about the sanity and judge the restaurant base on other performance, like the taste of the food, the service, or the location. By following the guidelines about food sanity, restaurants in the area have their customers trust and focus on their performance instead of trying to convince the customers about their food sanity. This will improve the trust between the customers and the businesses.

In additional, government role should not be minimal in the case of the competitive industry. For example, in the oil and gas industry, it is important that the government issue law and rules that prevent monopoly in the market.