Claim: In order to help small businesses thrive, government should play a minimal role in private business matters.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples

that could be used to challenge your position.

Statistics suggest that the number of businesses with principal cost less than ten thousand dollars is expected to grow about twice-fold by 2025. With this high growth rate in mind, the discussion whether the government should interfere in the functioning of these small business is imperative. Some critics argue that the government’s interference in these businesses can result into the governments charging excessive taxes and disrupting the normal flow of the market. Also, the governments which have such a constrained budget should not bother spending their resources in such matters. However, this essay aims to foreground some of the more positive aspects of governments’ intervention in the growth of private businesses and form a balanced view on the topic.

Firstly, governments can aid private businesses by offering the companies subsidies on the resources required as well as offering a tax-cut. The essential resources such as land, electricity, water and certain raw materials can be provided at a diminished cost thus boosting the success rates of such businesses. The loans required to establish and sustain these businesses can be provided at a lower interest rate. However these two proposals’ success is subject to the situation that the government does not act voraciously and is not subject to high rates of corruption. While this scheme can benefit the businesses, it does disrupt the nominal flow of the market which is usually ruled by supply and demand.

Furthermore, the government can provide guidance, counselling and education regarding entrepreneurship and handling small businesses. This scheme can help bolster many businesses which might otherwise face a sharp failure.

At last, the government can form bodies towards promoting private businesses by informing the youth about benefits of establishing small firms and businesses. Government can spend some amount in marketing and advertising small businesses. Critics argue that such a promotion scheme might undermine budgets of more important matters including healthcare and education. This is especially relevant in economies with a highly constrained budget, though, more effluent economies can certainly spend some share in such bodies.

To conclude, the rapid growth rate of small businesses is a matter of immediate attention. The government can aid them by providing subsidies and tax-incentives though they are subject to corruption and market risks. The government can also interfere indirectly by spending more on their promotion. The government can establish organisations which aim to educate people and promote their businesses by advertising. While such schemes do look very promising, they are difficult to implement in economies with a limited budget.