Claim: In order to help small businesses thrive, government should play a minimal role in private business matters.

There any factors which regulate the success of a business. From initial setup to its prolonged success factors like initial investment, suitable location, great idea which could attract more and more customers, rules and regulations etc. drive the business. According to author, for the burgeoning of small business, it is mandatory that government should pay more attention towards them and ignore private business matters. I find it too extreme to say that government can neglect private business and continue to support small business.

Firstly, business involving health, education and fiscal matters do require a system which has a well-defined set of rules and regulations. These issues are of great importance and require to be monitored independently by a regulatory body. For instance health is a very delicate matter and no human being would compromise with it. Say if a private but a good reputed hospital offers services at exorbitant rates, other public if they could not find any other hospital with nominal rates, would be coerced to take up services at such high rates. Thus government intervention is highly required in such matters; otherwise such businesses can exploit the general public by imposing their own sets of rules and precepts.

Additionally, consider situation in which there is no intervention of the government in business matters. In this case anyone can start up a business without following any legal formalities like following lawsuits or starting a business without any license, such business can be pernicious for public in future and may elicit a large competition among the various businesses. Without any legal formalities to be followed any one can have a chance to start a business and continue to exploit others as per their wish.

Albeit to this situation, there can be sometimes instances where a large private business may curb the efficiency of a small business or middle or lower class people. There are big companies which employ lower or middle class people at very low wages and get their work done in short span of time. Such people devote a large amount of time and efforts doing work for their employers and their efforts are not paid off correctly. If supported with proper capital and basic amenities required for establishing the business by the government, these people would not be dependent on big employers and can start their independent business.

Concluding, people choose government for the welfare of the society. So it is mandatory for the government to regulate their policies in such a way that they can keep an account on the flourishing big businesses and at the same time helping small businesses to bloom and thereby preventing them from further exploitation.