Claim: In order to help small businesses thrive, government should play a minimal role in private business matters.

Wrote a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and / or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The role of private industries in the economy of a country or in global economy is crucial and the support they provide to the economy can not be overlooked. Take General Electornics for example. During the time of great depression, the behemoth was responsible for almost 1% of the GDP of United States. However, these kind of revenues give the industries the power of influence, to get what they need by any means possible, which in turn leaves the small businesses vulnerable. There should be certain boundaries under which any organisation must operate. And it is the responsibility of the government to create such boundaries.

The practice of overtaking a small organisation by a big industry is not uncommon.The recent hostile takeover of Mindtree, an indian IT firm, by Larsen and Toubro (L&T) is a good example. L&T invested a huge amount of money almost a decade ago in Mindtree, and since then the conflict is going on. Finally it ended with L&T engulfing Mindtree.

Moreover, taking over another industry is only one thing. There are many ways in which a large-scale financial system can affect small businesses. During the 'dot-com bubble', Netscape released it's browser to browse the internet in an interactive and user friendly way. Netscape created the browser for Windows platform. However, Microsoft, the creator of Windows, had monopoly over the market as almost 70% of the computer then (and till this date) were running on Windows. Taking the dot-com bubble and the increasing popularity of Netscape into account, Microsoft released it's own browser called Internet Explorer which was pre-installed in any system and unlike Netscape, it was free.

Netscape sued Microsoft for taking advantage of it's monopoly over the market and the case was in the court of law for almost 7 years, damaging the reputation of a multi national organisation.

However, not all the time the takeover has to be hostile. There are many examples in which the acquisition of a small industry by a large industry is turned out to be successful. Acquisition of YouTube by Google, Flipkart by Wallmart, Instagram by Facebook to name a few. But the acquisition has to be agreed upon by both the side, not forced by one on another. And many times a small business has no say in that because of the power and influence these large-scale industries can have. For that, the government should interfere and set some boundaries under which every organisation has to operate.