Claim: In order to help small businesses thrive, government should play a minimal role in private business matters.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In

developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In order to help small businesses surivive in the market, I agree with the claim that government should play a minimal role in private business matters. There can be a number of ways in which small businesses can be helped like providing loans at a very less interest rate, etc, which could be possible if they could focus more on the small businesses. Government giving less importance to private business matters might give them more time to address the issues of smaller businesses.

Any product catches the attention of the buyers mostly by advertising. Therefore government helping small businesses advertise their product might help them to thrive in the market. Moreover they can also help them with money in the form of loans with cheap interest rates.

Private businesses with excessive funding gathers a lot of consumers by offering several attractive offers. One such example is the recent introduction of Ola; a startup which offers cab rides at a lesser price compared to the auto rickshaws. This resulted in the decline of usage of the auto rickshaws. This problem can be solved by the government by providing auto drivers with bonuses in order to compensate for the reduced price of auto rides. Also this reduced price must reach the customers (for them to be aware of this lower price), which is possible in the form of advertisement in the newpapers. Whereas these private businesses, in this case Ola is self sufficient.

Therefore government playing minimal role in private business could help devote more time and effort in smaller businesses and therby helping them thrive in the market.