Claim: Researchers should not limit their investigations to only those areas in which they expect to discover something that has an immediate, practical application.

Reason: It is impossible to predict the outcome of a line of research with any certainty.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The author of the issue claims that scientists should concentrate on any field of research and do not take their expectations of discovery into consideration. He further reasons that the anticipation of any research and its outcomes is impossible. Personally, I refute the rationale behind both the claim and reason.

To commence with, it is established beyond doubt that scientists and scholars play a pivotal role in every given society and their contribution helps a nation make a progress day in day out and flourish. Broadly speaking, scientists are interested in any field of research and we have to praise them for their discoveries. But they should stay focus on an area of studies that their results are known and predictable. As a tangible example, since the dawn of civilization crowds of people suffer from various diseases like cancer, HIV, heart disease and so forth. In fact, scientists should base their works to find a solution for these diseases and come up with a helpful and effective remedy to cure such kinds of diseases. To elucidate more on this issue, if scientists put their effort so as to make a discovery in any realm, it might be waste of time and money without any conspicuous success.

Another example of this is the contribution of scientists when it comes to lead a healthy life. During many years scientists make an effort to patronize humans to lead a healthy life by the cultivation of hygienic crops. Scientists know that research in such an area not only can be effective for people's health but also can enhance their value of research. Although work in any field of study might resolve and handle somehow and why questions, it is risky to try some unpredictable research without any certainty. As a matter of fact, scientists should bend over backward to base their research in areas that their outcomes are obvious and majorities of people can benefit from those research.

As far as the reason is concerned, it should be pointed out that there are many fields of research that prediction of their results is impossible but they could not be neglected. If we take a minute to ponder over it, astronomy is a field that plays an important role in the future of people and although it is impossible to anticipate its results, scientists know to the extent research in this field has the positive impact on the life of humans. In fact, natural resources are terminating here on earth, so, research in astronomy will helps scientists to address this problem and confront probable trials and tribulations in the future.