Claim Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student s major field of study Reason Acquiring knowledge of various academic disciplines is the best way to become truly educated

In these days students have an umpteen number of choices for them to choose among variety of study field. Because of these variety of options, student might get toggled up into one or more than one option for their filed of study. And, as a demand of the globalized world, student are most likely to benefit if they have a choice to take additional courses along with their field of study. However, to go as far as to say that every student must be required by the university to attend those classes mandatorily, the statement becomes a contentious issue and different people will have different opinion. Some might suggest that it should be made compulsory while other might have a little laid back opinion to give the choice freedom to the student.

In the contemporary world today, an individual requires at least some knowledge from all field of study to survive. A person is not considered intelligent if s/he has great depth of knowledge on one particular subject unless s/he makes a ground-breaking invention in that field. This is a practical world and learning only literature is not enough most of the time. For example, a doctor is considered best at his work not just because of the theoretical knowledges he has but also the emotional quotient he possess that helps him/her connect to the patient. The emotional quotient or intelligence do not just pop along with the medical course but the variety of other different courses such as sociology, anthropology, etc. that leads a medical student in becoming the best at what s/he does. So, introducing other courses in the university should be open but again, not restricted.

Aside from having the necessity to have a basic knowledge of different fields, for the sake of the major of the fields of study. It is advisable to take another course as well because there is now to tell when one or the other course you took might come in handy. For instance, all we know is what a great outcome we had of Steve Jobs taking calligraphy lesson. Sure, it is completely different from his computer course but that is what made it outstanding as he was the only one in the team to suggest different types of font in the computer when all of his teams were busy mending logical and technical operations. A course outside your major widens your horizon and gives you the outer perspective even in your own field.

In all actuality, adding more courses to your major can be profitable. However, more the education procedure becomes professional, the less should other courses be required. Some fields of study are huge as it is, adding more courses will only distract the student from their actual field. Although there is no red line for deciding this course should go with that course, student must be clever in choosing the course of their study which will not distract themselves. And if universities make it compulsory for the student choose on or the extra course then the result might not be as the universities expect because without passion or interest any kind of course taken will go in vain.

In conclusion, although taking additional courses will help in developing multi-dimensional characteristics in student, it is not wise to abide the students in taking the course by the university. As the saying goes “Jack of all trades, master of none.”, we should not let ourselves distract from our major filed of study in between taking variety of courses.