Claim: We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradicts our own.

Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

It is true that debating can cause mental stress and even create conflict while we disagree with each other. But if everybody simply agrees and confirms on one thing, what is going to happen in the world? Of course, it will be easier to manipulate the society. Is this a right way for an efficient learning? Absolutely not! Without conflicting and having an argument, I believe one cannot have the opportunity to widen one’s thoughts.

Because we challenge ideas, we are able to discover and learn many other important things, which we possibly wouldn’t have thought on the first place. For example, consider the flat earth theory. Earlier people used to believe and were living with an idea that we are living on a flat earth. Until, in 5BC, Pythagoras came up with an outstandingly ridiculous thought, of Earth being a sphere rather than flat. Eventually, after deepest strenuous study and debate, this claim got proved. If he never had a disagreeing claim, we would never have learned the significant fact about our planet Earth. Furthermore, what if Columbus never wondered about having a huge land beyond the gigantic ocean? He would never have discovered the land of America. In this regards, I believe, we, as a human being, cannot learn the deepest points of any issue, without having a conflicting opinion.

Having a disagreement is necessary to find the flaws in our opinions as well. If everyone simply agrees on one point, and there is nobody to point it out, it will be difficult to find any fallacy. Adam Smith believed in invisible hands that solved major problem in the market. Earlier, many people and the Government blindly followed Capitalism ‘All mighty is the Money’. However, there were people who proclaimed the relationship between the labours and the bourgeois. Question raised, why the labours are the poor ones and the bourgeois are the rich ones. If there was no listening and learning from Communism, there would not have been a world, like the world we live in today, where the Government provide welfare to the workers and implements the private property systems.

Of course, life would have been easier if everyone simply agrees on one thing. Since, every individual is different and has a different perspective towards different things; there are many other possibilities on concluding to a fact. So considering the theories of various thought processes and opinions across the human history, disagreement and interacting with the people of having contradicting viewpoints plays an essential part of one’s learning. If someone really wants to widen the thought process, which is nothing but developing new ideas by learning things from different resources, they must have a discourse with someone who sees an issue from a different angle.