Claim: We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own.

Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

The speaker claims that we can learn much more from people whose views we share and not the vice versa for the reason that disagreements can be a source of stress, thus inhibiting leaning. While undue discords can cause stress and hinder the learning process; otherwise, constructive discourse with people having contradictory opinions is the very basis for learning and advancement of knowledge.

At the first instance, the claim appears to have considerable merit. According to a socialist Walter Lippmann in his book titled ‘Public Opinion’: when people have different opinions and are unable to each other, this may cause conflicts, at times, exacerbating into abhorrence for each other. After all, a mere look on an ongoing political debate on a television news channel, where panelists vociferously attempt to impose their viewpoints on others by compensating the lack of cogency of their argument with high pitches, is enough to understand this point. Similarly, when there is a fundamental difference in the ideologies of the people involved with neither one willing to budge from his or her standpoint, there is little scope for learning. For example, a student can learn little about the benefits of democracy from a staunch communist. Likewise, a biology pupil can rarely learn about ‘natural selection’ from a person whose religious beliefs have no room for Darwinian’s principles in the first place.

However, otherwise, constructive disagreements are fundamental to learn and understand situation from different perspectives. By listening to their guardians or teachers, young children can learn about the importance of regulations imposed upon them and the consequences of their irresponsible behaviour. Whereas, by listening to their wards, guardians and teachers can realize about the importance of privacy and freedom. In a diverse country like India, discussions between different religious or cultural group have helped people understand and respect others’ customs and beliefs, thus paving for communal harmony. Similarly, discussions between two nations with completely distinct system of governance, values and priorities, have paved for world peace. The recent diplomacy between Donald Trump and Kim Jung Un that almost averted an inevitable war could be a case in focus.

Moreover, discussions between scholars and professionals with contrasting views, where everyone’s opinion is based upon his or her knowledge, experience and expertise, results in creative solutions thus advancing knowledge. For instance, theorists have been debating for nearly two or three decades about the two contradictory theories of atomic physics: the wave theory and the quantum theory. The ultimate consequence of this debate is the emergence of a new ‘string’ theory that mathematically corroborates both the opposing theories mentioned before. Similarly, debates between medical professionals, at times, give rise to a new line of treatment for a disease or a patient. Disagreements between lawmakers result in modern laws better reflecting the contemporary societal values. Legalization of ‘same gender marriage’ in France is a glaring example.

In conclusion, while undue discords and debates can be a source of stress impeding the learning process, especially when there is a fundamental and rigid difference in the ideologies of the people involved; debates based on reasoning and common ground between rational participants is the only way for a society to develop, knowledge to advance and people to learn.