True success can be measured primarily in terms of the goals one sets for oneself.

Few words are as elusive to define as ‘true success’. There are myriad factors, both intrinsic and extrinsic, that have been used to measure success but none could find common consensus. The statement contends that true success can be measured primarily in terms of the goals one sets for oneself. While goals play a defining role in providing motivation and directing one’s efforts to achieve success, it is unwise to ignore other parameters which influence and decide the value of one’s success.

Admittedly, no criteria can be more pragmatic than the intrinsic metrics, including the goal an individual sets for himself, to measure his success for the reason that extrinsic factors vary from person to person depending upon their circumstances. Say for example, wealth is a widely used proxy to decide someone’s success. However, the true measure of success for the people of war torn nations would be to achieve long lasting peace. Moreover, self goals evolve with time providing motivation to propel the individual to greater heights than before which is not the case with other externally defined metrics. For example, after amassing the two most coveted extrinsic metrics for success, wealth and fame, it was Bill Gates’ personal goals that prompted him to achieve success in contributing to the healthcare of third world countries.

However, an individual’s goal is the starting point of his journey of success and the outcome is the final destination. Between these two points lies an entire story of efforts, challenges, efficiency, fairness of means, etc. To comprehend the value of someone’s success in its entirety, the whole story must be looked at. Consider the importance of efforts in measuring success. In a school, many students set the goal of a perfect GPA, yet few put in the desired efforts to achieve the goal. Certainly, with the set goals as sole criterion, the true achievers cannot be distinguished from the others. Similarly, the value of someone’s success is augmented when he tackles big challenges in his journey. Thomas Edison’s invention of light bulb stands out from his other invention not merely because of the importance of the invention but also due to the challenges he overcame in finding the perfect element for his prototype.

Moreover, someone’s efficiency of resources and time in accomplishing a feat is also a measure of his success. For instance, while many countries have achieved unmanned Mars mission before, the India’s mission got plaudits for its success considering the availability of limited resources at its disposal. Similarly, while many nations achieved manned moon landing, US is known for being the quickest, hence first, nation to do so. Furthermore, the fairness of means one employs to achieve his goals cannot be ignored also while evaluating success. For example, every athlete aim to break records in sports and so was Lance Armstrong, known his exploits in Tour De France. Yet, as soon as his doping scandal came to the fore, all of his success became void in no time. Finally, the outcome of someone’s endeavour cannot be overlooked in measuring his success. Alexander Fleming discovery of Penicillin which changed the meaning of modern medicine was neither a product of a set goal nor of any other intrinsic factors - but was rather serendipity.

In conclusion, given that external perimeters for evaluating success vary depending upon individuals and circumstances, intrinsic factors are the most effective and pragmatic criteria for measuring somebody’s true success. While the gaol a person sets for himself is an important internal metric, it is the merely the starting point of someone’s journey. The whole merit of a success story can only be appreciated when other factors such as efforts, challenges, efficiency, fairness of means and finally the outcome is accounted.