College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

The given prompt argues that students should pursue degree in those fields where job availability is high in market. I disagree with the prompt because availability of job in certain field is volatile and unpredictable, lack of student interest may worsen his grade. Even though, following the advice individual can get the job early after graduation, lack of interest on those fields may be hindrance for prospective growth in future.

No one can predict the vacant position of job in the future. The availability of vacancy in given field is similar to global economy. For instance, 10 years ago, nursing career was deemed lucrative career at that time, having numerous vacancy and good stipend. However, after 5 years, nurses were so numerous that amateur nurses were mostly unoccupied, or either doing volunteer. Moreover, at present days, due to the government policy to enhance the Nepalese language, scope of Nepali teacher, who were sitting idle in past years, have been increased. Thus, students, who pursue the major on the basis of job availability, cannot meet the expected outcome if the vacancy decline due to many reason.

The students cannot perform well if he is not keen towards that field, regardless how much the field be lucrative or high vacancy. Since the student is not interested, he will have difficult having high grades and work hard for study. Having lower grades, he will be surpassed by other candidate while applying in lucrative position and lower grade act as impediment in the development of career. On the other hand, if the student is matriculated in interested field, he can perform best in academic performance and other practical fields. As a result, his possibility to be enrolled in high position will be high, despite of being moderate vacancy.

Some people argue that being heedfulness of job availability, students pursuing according to advice will be able to get the decent job immediately after their graduation. Let suppose it may be true, given that job availability is high, but do people, who are not interested, will have happy life or will one be keen to enhance their career. The Indian popular writer Chetan Bhagwat has done is major in engineering, but he left his occupation as it is and pursued the career of writer. Therefore, pursuing career based on availability can make one’s occupation blasé if he/she is not interested in their field.

In conclusion, Student’s should not focus on major based on job presence because job vacancies are fickle and uninterested course selection can hamper on their grade. However, they may get job easily,choosing uninterested course may act as obstacle for future career growth.