College students should be encouraged to pursue subjects that interest them rather than the courses that seem most likely to lead to jobs.

The statement being presented is, “College students should be encouraged to pursue subjects that interest them rather than the courses that seem most likely to lead to jobs”. I agree with this statement to an extent. The thought process when one is applying to college is “What do I want to do for the rest of my life?”. There are certain fields of study that will guarantee a student with many job opportunities. However, there are so many more majors in college that are very interesting and unique, but fail to provide many opportunities for employment. Students should pursue what interests them most, not what others believe is the “better” path for them to take.

So many students that I know begin college with the major their parents and previous teachers have told them is the best career path for them. These students may not enjoy what they are studying, but feel safe in knowing that they will be employed when they graduate. However, those individuals that I am familiar with who entered college in this way ended up changing their majors within the first two years. This series of events ultimately leaves the student behind in their studies, due to the sudden change in career path. External influences can be deleterious to a student’s true passion and calling in life.

Another unfortunate outcome that commonly occurs with those who choose a field of study that they do not particularly enjoy is a spitefulness or hatred towards their job. The main goal of every college student is to graduate into a fortifying and beneficial employment that is enjoyable to them. Those students who put so much hard work and effort into a field that they do not have a desire to be a part of end up being involved in a career that they dread. This may lead to a life of wealth and stability, but leave the individual feeling unfulfilled or empty. No matter the benefits, one’s job should be their true passion in life.

Although following one’s dreams can lead them to a career in which they enjoy, it may not lead them to guaranteed employment. Those who study topics that are unusual or uncommon might end up unemployed or lost after graduation. While they are studying a subject in which they are enthralled, there may not be a suitable amount of job opportunities waiting for them when they graduate. Common advice given to these people would be to study a field that provides many employment options and designate a smaller role to their true passion. For example, someone who loves acting may be encouraged to take up management as their career focus, but search for a job managing a theater post- graduation. These suggestions might not seem ideal to an individual at first, but could be the smartest career choice if they want to combine success with passion.

Children are always told to follow their dreams and pursue what interests them when they are at a young age. However, this motto may not be as easy to stand by during their college years. Although some majors lead to more job opportunities than others, students should be encouraged to study what interests them most in life. Pursuing a career that one does not enjoy is not helpful to the individual nor the field in which they are entering. This decision may cause the individual to resent their job and feel dissatisfied with their life. Studying what one loves is always a good idea, but could lead to unemployment after college. The way to live a happy and successful life is to pursue one’s interests, while keeping a practical mindset.